The theater my family owned in Cuba


I found this link to the theater my grandfather’s family, the Daniel Challa family on my mother’s side, owned in Marti, a small town near Varadero Beach, Cuba. It was called “Los Hermanos Daniel” before it was acquired by the Cuban government in 1962. Today, the theater is still a functioning theater and it is called “Cine Marti.”

Some corrections that must be made since the article has a few errors:

1) My family did not immigrate to Cuba in 1956. They lived there since before my grandfather was born in 1913.

2) My mom’s family is Lebanese, not Turkish.

Sad to think that the people in the Cuban government don’t know the historical facts of the properties they currently own.

http://www.atenas.cult.cu/?q=node/1830

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

