The Thanksgiving 2009 Post. I love my family!










It is Thanksgiving once again.  You might all think that it’s just another holiday, another day off from school or work, a day to watch football and the Macy’s Day Parade.  But have you sat down and thought about what Thanksgiving is all about.  Life is fast and we all have moments when we don’t think about what we have in our lives.  We easily fall into a daily routine and we pretty much become zombies.  It’s easy to get caught up in competing with the Jones.  We forget about what we have and only focus on what we want.  The cycle goes on.  It’s ok to admit it.  That’s the first step.  The problem is when we don’t correct it. 
This Thanksgiving will be a special one for my family and I.  Last week we my parents and I were involved in a major car accident that almost took our lives.  A man fell asleep on US1 and crashed his pickup truck into us while we were waiting to turn out of a parking lot. He crossed two lanes and hit the driver’s side where my dad was and then hit the light post that fell right after. Our car did a 180 turn and we were all very disoriented. I do not know how I just ran out of the car and into the restaurant we were leaving from. All I remember hearing was my mom screaming “I’m bleeding”. She wasn’t but she was wet from the chocolate and churros that flew around the car. We all thought my dad was unconscious because it took him a while to get out of the car, but when he got out we noticed his shoulder was dislocated and he was spitting out glass from the window that broke. Being disoriented and not knowing what to do is the worst feeling ever. Luckily, we were surrounded by many knowledgeable people that were in the restaurant that offered to help us. According to the police and paramedics, we were lucky to be in a Mercedes. We were blessed.
It is scary to witness how things can drastically change in a fraction of a second even if we are just sitting there out of the way.  For now I just want to let all of you out there know that we should all appreciate the people that we are surrounded by and appreciate our lives.  Never take anything for granted. We are all lucky to be here whether there are hard times or not.  Those hard times allow us to grow and to appreciate things more.  
This year, sit down with your loved ones, say the things you want to say, do the things you want to do, and realize that you are loved and lucky to be here. Life is too short to not realize this. 
I LOVE MY FAMILY! HAPPY THANKSGIVING, EVERYONE!!!
Leave a Reply

